Please Sign In


New To Sportsman Network?

Your opinion

Reply
 
I went to Sweetwater Marina on 5/2/2015. Since I was by myself and did not want to hold up the line I launched my boat before paying. After launching I went inside to pay for launch. I was informed that the credit card machine was down and payment was cash only. Looking in my wallet I only had $3 cash. I was willing to give him the $3 or pay him next time I was down there. Lets work something out as it is not either of us fault the credit card machine was down.

I was told pay cash in full or take my boat out the water and go some place else. Now I could understand if I was looking for free ice; bait; drinks; but to make me leave because I could not pay in full for a back down launch because your credit card machine is down.

After talking to a few friends about this and all of them agreeing with me Sweetwater launch has left a bad taste in my mouth.
But I would like to know what others think about this. Am I wrong for asking that he work with me on payment or was this guy at Sweetwater just out of line.
Thanks.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I think it is on both of you.

Yes, maybe he should have let you slide, but, it is his business. Maybe that happens all too regular and he is tired of people trying to get over (not saying that is/was you).

And to go on a trip with only $3 cash?? I would NEVER do that. I use my credit card for pretty much everything, but when I go fishing I always have cash on hand to avoid that scenario. I mostly freshwater fish and some of the places I go do not have a machine of ANY kind, much less a credit card machine to pay for a launch?? I personally think paying for a launch with a credit card is kinda wrong anyway. If you were buying several things, by all means use your card. But to just purchase a launch??? Have cash for that. Every time someone runs their card, it charges the business owner a percentage of the sale.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Who was working at the counter? was it an employee?
Reply
Re: Your opinion
i guess bring more cash next time.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
My opinion - it was stupid customer service. Clearly you were not trying to rip them off. Bad will from dumb stuff like that lasts a long time. They would lose my patronage.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Im sorry about your situation, but i have a small business and have been screwed enough times to know that there is no exceptions when it comes to payment.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I doubt you were dealing with Jack or Cindy. that just doesnt sound like them.. I had a very similar thing happen to me at Serignes. We pulled up to the launch one morning and realized between all of us we only had about $8 cash on us the guy working there asked what was wrong we explained our situation and asked if we could just pay the $8 to launch and not worry about live bait. He said just give me what you have the $8 covered the launch and 50 live shrimp. I've had some bad experiences at Serignes and have heard some bad stories, but in the past few years ive experienced nothing but great customer service including at Sweetwater.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
JB, I think in the future, there will be no such thing as folding money!!!! everything will be credit cards, debit cards, all electronic, whatever!!! just as soon get use to all the trouble and hassle of paying late fees because the machines are down! you're buddy owes you $20, he will slide his card on you're cell phone to pay you!!!!! its gonna work as good as Obama care, if that makes you feel better??? JOHN F, the guy could have cut u some slack!!!! my opinion!!!
Reply
'He Said That I Said That You Said'
...too much razzle dazzle w/electronic money mixed w/bozos w/champange taste on a beer budget...nutt'n like the old fashion 'greenbacks'...cheers
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Just curious, did you pull your boat or did he let you slide? I've been down there quite a few times during duck season and thosw guys kidd around alot.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Thanks guys.
Just to answer a few questions.

I was dealing with an employee.
A young male.
A friend of mine said I should of asked for Jack.

I honestly thought I had some cash.
I had launched there in the past and knew they took credit cards.
I was trying to use card as I really wanted live bait; launch; and ice. Probably $30 total. I was willing to take only launch since I could not pay. I offered to even allow him to copy down my CC number and charge it manually when machine came back up.

He would not let me slide. Told me if he saw my truck in parking lot without a pay tag they give you he would have it towed.

No real worries. I was able to make a trip out of it despite sweetwater marina.
Reply
wow
That doesnt surprise me. I have only been there a few times but each time a young girl has been taking $$$ and counting shrimp and I mean trying to count shrimp one at a time!!!!! Each time I paid for 100 I would bet we didnt get 60! The last time I went some guy was picking people up in a golf cart and bring people them to lauch,which was nice but he started begging me for $$$$$$!!! I'll just stay on the Shell Beach side.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
If I go to Delacroix the only place I go is Jacks Sometime I take my lil flat by myself they always try to help most times they chase me down in the golf cart and always have helped in any way they could I mean never have they asked for a tip never tried anything but help as far as the ride it could have been Jack or his Dad or an employee Can't say anything but GREAT Mike from abita
Reply
Re: Your opinion
We are very sorry about your experience. Having all been in similar situations we would hope that rules would be bent and common sense employed. We also know our young staff understands how important customer service is to us at Sweetwater and we see them go above and beyond on a daily basis to make sure anyone launching at Sweetwater has a great experience. Capt. Jack has already made some phone calls and dscussed how to better handle this type of situattion in the future. As always, we appreciate any input from our customers, good and bad.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Personally I wouldn't have put my boat in the water till after I had paid if I knew I never had any cash in my pockets , but I also doubt that would have ever happened to me as I won't be on the road without some cash in my pocket ------- I don't see how you can put this on SweetWater , you brought it on yourself
Reply
Re: Your opinion
cant believe some people have the audacity to come on a website and bash a business who was totally in the right. It was your own fault but people are always looking to place blame on anyone but themselves. Part of what is wrong with the country today is we have been giving handouts and letting people slide. You should apologize
Reply
Re: Your opinion
The guy was simply explaining a situation that happened to him and asking for people's opinions on the matter. Did you even read the post? I would hardly consider what he said as bashing Sweetwater. I can think of plenty things he could have said if he was strictly on here to bash someone. I launch at Sweetwater all the time and have nothing but good things to say. I know it wasn't Jack that you talked to about the payment or it would have been handled totally different. Super nice guy and great customer service.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I don't think this post was bashing, just pointing out an unfortunate situation. In fact, Sweetwater, Campo's, and Breton Sound Marina often go out of their way for customers. I have many great stories, but will reserve them for another day.

Young people can really be stupid sometimes. But, they are inexperienced by definition, and have to learn sometimes. Jack has certainly looked into this.

But do bring cash next time :)
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Agree this was a good post because it will help others with problem. Can't understand why you would not take the credit card number and his drivers lic. and when your equipment comes up run it. We purchase all kinds of things with credit cards over phone.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Does not sund like the Jack I know or even any of the girls that have waited on me. Jack has always been very accomodating. I cant say one thing negative about my sweetwater experiences ever.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I agree with marreoduckman, that john f is not bashing sweetwater, just stating what happened!!!! he wants our opinions, nothing wrong with that at all!!! I think he did get the short end only because of the lack of experience of a young person!!!! cash in his pocket don't matter!!!!
Reply
Re: Your opinion
Thats sad. Employee needs a reality check. Jack I'm sure is pissed.
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I don't know why some of you are bashing the OP. It doesn't matter what the business is or who owns it, that was poor customer service. At least in my book and my book is a best seller. Any business owner knows (or should know) that the success and livelihood of their business depends solely on the customers who spend their money there. Especially customers who come back again and again. If it were me I'd have bent over backwards and do whatever it took to satisfy that customer regardless if he/she were right or wrong. It was certainly not the fault of the business or the customer that the card machine was not working but the customer should have not been penalized.

Good customer service is hard to come by these days. As a customer, I have high expectations regarding customer service and f I get what I consider poor service I usually will not return to that business. My money is hard-earned and I will not spend it at a place where my business is not appreciated. A lot of businesseas do not have a clue on what customer service means. I'm sure some of you remember the old saying that 'the customer is always right? Of course there are exceptions to every rule so in reality maybe that ought to be 'the customer is mostly always right? In other words, even when dealing with idiots, the customer should be given the old benefit of the doubt so to speak.

When in doubt, 'Customer's First' is a good motto. I'm sure that some of you will disagree with me so have at it. Sounds like to me that the owner of this business has a handle on things and hopefully this will be handled differently if this situation comes up again.

Time to regroup, retrain, and retry. Nothing that a little training won't take care of and hopefully this will be a lesson learned for that young employee.

Brad
Reply
Re: Your opinion
All good comments and all things considered, this is just poor customer service...

We have been trained to use CC's and yes one day there will be no paper $$

Bottom line here was just poor customer service.

I own a business and would fire an employee that threatened to have someone towed when it was MY Business that had the original problem of the CC machine going down...

What ever happened to PEN and PAPER?? Writing down the customers information and charging them when the machine is up and running??

If I turned away a customer for my CC machine being down, I am sure they wouldnt come back.

What ever happened to Common Sense???

Seems to be severely lacking in our world...

and I just thought it was the politicians LOL
Reply
Re: Your opinion
I would like to know what you would have done if the guy would have taken the money out of his own pocket for you? what would your next move have been? A post thanking him? I think this was a dumm move on your part to post If you leave home with just 3 dollars to go fish you would never had listen to mom when she told to keep clean undies on cause you mite be in a wreck this is a bad post cause Sweetwater is the best launch anywhere///mike from abita
Reply
Re: Your opinion
That's about a 'dumm' post. Makes no difference how much money he had on him. That business failed to provide a service that they advertise and then compounded that by threatening and insulting him. It's obvious that you are not a business owner, and if you are, it's probably a failing business.

You can be the best business in the world but when you give bad service to just one customer it can have a profound effect on said business. Word-of-mouth is a very powerful thing and can have a positive or negative effect on a business. Many businesses have failed because of it and many owners didn't even have a clue as to why. Many businesses have also succeeded because of it. Human nature is such that you can give the best service ever and that's not remembered as easily as the one time you get bad service. People always remember the bad things, rarely the good.

I'm sure that Captain Jack and his crew normally give outstanding service. This is reflected in the many very positive posts on this forum. As far as the OP bashing the business that's a crock of crap. If the OP doesn't make a complaint in some form or the other how is Captain Jack know when something in his business needs tweaking? Most businesses solicit and want feedback no matter how good or bad so they can have an idea on how there business is perceived. Most businesses have a comment card that you can fill out or you can go on most websites and leave feedback.

A great business (really any business) needs to know from their customers how they are not only doing but also how they are perceived. Remember that in these days perception is reality. Sometimes one and the same and sometimes not.

Brad
Reply
Re: Your opinion
The marina is jacks business , how he makes his money . How many times have you gone grocery shopping and said I'll come back in the next week or two and pay for the groceries ? Or got gas and told the person behind the counter that you'll pass back by sometime next week to pay for the gas ?
Reply