time to end the speculation, direct from the LDWF website on 6/6/2007, registering a boat:
ALL REQUESTS FOR REGISTRATION TRANSACTIONS REQUIRE A COMPLETED APPLICATION ALONG WITH OTHER APPLICABLE DOCUMENTATION AS FOLLOWS. FAILURE TO SUPPLY ALL INFORMATION INCLUDING SIGNATURE OF OWNER WILL RESULT IN REJECTION OF YOUR APPLICATION.
Proof of ownership - a copy of invoice from dealer or manufacturer's statement of origin. Proof of state and local taxes paid must be evident on the invoice, or application must be accompanied by an original Tax Certification Form (R-1331), signed and stamped by local tax office and Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxation.
Boats coming into Louisiana from another state must have the out-of-state registration or title, invoice from dealer, or a notarized bill of sale with raised seal. In addition, if the boat is 10 or less years old, a completed original Tax Certification Form R-1331 is required. If out-of-state registration/title is not available, a certified original letter from the state that the boat is leaving acknowledging the status of the boat or documentation of origination of the boat is required.
Homemade boats without a Hull Identification Number (HIN) that are applying for new registration must go through INSPECTION. A registration application and an inspection application are required. Original receipts for materials indicating taxes paid must be provided at the time of inspection. Applicants for inspection of boats other than homemade must provide proof of ownership and a notarized affidavit of history of the boat at the time of inspection. DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL RECEIPTS WITH INSPECTION APPLICATION. THEY MUST BE PRESENTED TO THE AGENT AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION.
Current registration number must be on all applications for transfer of ownership. In addition to the application, proof of ownership with a NOTARIZED bill of sale with a raised seal signed by the prior owner OR the prior owners Louisiana Boat Registration Certificate with the reassignment of ownership on the reverse side completed and signed by the previous owner.
Boats coming into Louisiana from another state that have never been registered in Louisiana are NEW APPLICATIONS.
Current registration number must be on the application.
Duplicate Decals with Certificate
Applications must provide current registration number and a NOTARIZED affidavit with a raised seal stating why decal replacement is being requested. If the decals are damaged, they must be returned with the application. Affidavit is available @ wlf.state.la.us
Applications must provide the current registration number.
The owner of a boat is required by law to report changes of ownership, address, loss or destruction of certificate number, and destruction or abandonment of boat within 15 days of the occurrence. The owner of a boat is required to report any registered boat, which has been stolen, to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries within five (5) days.
A collision, accident, or other casualty involving a vessel and resulting death or injury to a person must be reported to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Attn: Boating Accidents, P. O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898, within 48 hours. If only property damages in excess of $200.00 are incurred, the report must be filed within 5 days. To obtain forms for reporting a boating accident, contact the nearest Wildlife & Fisheries office.
It is a violation of Federal and State law to knowingly possess any vessel or motor from which the Hull Identification or Serial Number has been removed or altered.
TO AVOID ADDITIONAL FEES, IF REGISTRATION DOCUMENTS ARE NOT RECEIVED WITHIN 30 DAYS, PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE @(225) 765-2898.
RETAIN THIS COPY UNTIL ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE AND DECALS ARE RECEIVED.